Lot was sold

Lot 354

Estimate
40.000 - 60.000 €
Hammer
43.000,00 €

You want to sell an object of Vanessa Beecroft?"
Objects
Experts

Do you wish to purchase Vanessa Beecroft and receive future offers?
Newsletter & Inquiry Index
Auction results from: Vanessa Beecroft
BEECROFT, VANESSA
1969 Genoa

Title: Untitled (From Performance VB64).
Date: 2008.
Technique: Three female figures out of hard black Paraffin wax, each lying on a steel table.
Measurement: Sculpture 1: ca. 167,5 x 38 x 21,5cm / Table: 172,5 x 43,5 x 62,5xm.
Sculpture 2: ca. 185,5 x 53 x 28cm / Table: 190,5 x 58 x 62,5cm.
Sculpture 3: ca. 178 x 52 x 30cm / Table: 190 x 62 x 62,5cm.

These installations have the copy number: 1/3. Enclosed with the work is a certificate of authenticity by the artist. Here signed and dated: WBeecroft08. Additionally, information about the work as well as numbering.

Provenance:
- Deitch Projects, New York

Exhibitions:
- me Collectors Room, Berlin 2014/2015
- Museum Arnheim, 2016

Literature:
- Stiftung Olbricht (ed.): Queensize - Female Artists from the Olbricht Collection, Berlin 2015, ill. p. 130f.

The performance artist Vanessa Beecroft was born in Genoa, the daughter of a British man and an Italian woman. There, she first studied architecture and then stage design in Milan. Since 1994, the artist has staged her performances worldwide, acting more as a director and often using female models for her productions, which she directs from the background.
The three black sculptures are part of Beecroft's performance VB64. VB64 is inspired by the Sicilian funeral sculpture of the Renaissance. The first version of the work was presented in July 2008 in the apse of Santa Maria dello Spasimo in Palermo. Beecroft staged the American version of the performance at Deitch Studios in New York on March 9th, 2009. In the main room of the performance, 20 female models, painted with white body paint, lie on and next to white concrete pedestals, which have a coffin-like aesthetic. In the spaces in between are scattered some white sculptures, cast from the live models and hardly distinguishable from them. As a visual counterbalance to the white models, nine plaster sculptures covered with black microcrystalline wax lie in the adjacent room, as if laid out.
Beecroft, whose works initially revolve exclusively around the theme of gender identity, uses VB64 to explore the relationship between sculpture, performance and real life. Beecroft not only puts this relationship in the spotlight, but also focuses on the tension between life and death.
| Recommend lot
|

Conditions of Sale



Droit de suite
1

VAT margin scheme, VAT included, but must not be indicated, not refundable

29.00 % buyer’s premium on the hammer price

Los ist verkauft

Los 354

Taxe
40.000 - 60.000 €
Zuschlag
43.000,00 €

Sie wollen ein Objekt von Vanessa Beecroft verkaufen?
Objektbewertung
Experten

Möchten Sie Vanessa Beecroft kaufen und zukünftig Angebote erhalten?
Newsletter & Suchkartei
Auktionsergebnisse zu: Vanessa Beecroft
BEECROFT, VANESSA
1969 Genua

Titel: Ohne Titel (Aus Performance VB64).
Datierung: 2008.
Technik: Drei weibliche Figuren aus festem schwarzen Paraffin-Wachs, jeweils auf einem Stahltisch liegend.
Maße: Skulptur 1: ca. 167,5 x 38 x 21,5cm / Tisch: 172,5 x 43,5 x 62,5xm.
Skulptur 2: ca. 185,5 x 53 x 28cm / Tisch: 190,5 x 58 x 62,5cm.
Skulptur 3: ca. 178 x 52 x 30cm / Tisch: 190 x 62 x 62,5cm.

Diese Installation hat die Exemplarnummer: 1/3. Dem Werk liegt ein Zertifikat der Künstlerin bei. Hier signiert und datiert: WBeecroft08. Danzu Angaben zum Werk sowie Nummerierung.

Provenienz:
- Deitch Projects, New York

Ausstellungen:
- me Collectors Room, Berlin 2014/2015
- Museum Arnheim, 2016

Literatur:
- Stiftung Olbricht (Hrsg.): Queensize - Female Artists from the Olbricht Collection, Berlin 2015, Abb. S. 130f.

Die Performance-Künstlerin Vanessa Beecroft wird als Tochter eines Briten und einer Italienerin in Genua geboren. Sie studiert dort zunächst Architektur und anschließend Bühnengestaltung in Mailand. Ab 1994 inszeniert die Künstlerin ihre Performances weltweit, wobei sie eher als Regisseurin agiert und für die Inszenierungen häufig auf weibliche Modelle zurückgreift, die sie aus dem Hintergrund dirigiert.
Die drei schwarzen Skulpturen sind Teil von Beecrofts Performance VB64. VB64 ist von der sizilianischen Begräbnisskulptur der Renaissance inspiriert. Die erste Version des Werkes wurde im Juli 2008 in der Apsis von Santa Maria dello Spasimo in Palermo präsentiert. Die amerikanische Version der Performance zeigte Beecroft am 9. März 2009 in den Deitch Studios in New York. Im Hauptraum der Performance liegen 20 mit weißer Körperfarbe bemalte weibliche Modelle auf und neben weißen Betonsockeln, die eine sargähnliche Ästhetik aufweisen. Dazwischen finden sich einige von lebenden Modellen abgegossene weiße Skulpturen, die von den lebenden Modellen kaum zu unterscheiden sind. Als visuelles Gegengewicht zu den weißen Modellen liegen im Nebenraum, wie aufgebahrt, neun Skulpturen aus Gips, die mit schwarzem, mikrokristallinem Wachs überzogen sind.
Beecroft, deren Arbeiten sich zunächst ausschließlich um das Thema Genderidentität dreht, erforscht mit VB64 das Verhältnis von Skulptur, Performance und realem Leben. Doch nicht nur diese Beziehung wird durch Beecroft ins Rampenlicht gerückt, auch die Spannung zwischen Leben und Tod steht im Fokus.
Los ausdrucken
| Los empfehlen
|

Bedingungen



Folgerechtabgabe
1

Differenzbesteuerung, MwSt. enthalten, gem. § 25a UStG nicht ausweisbar, nicht erstattbar

29,00 % Aufgeld auf den Zuschlagspreis