Back

Lot was sold

Lot 423 | Cindy Sherman | Untitled Film Still #39

Estimate
80.000 - 120.000 €
Result
129.000 €

You want to sell an object of Cindy Sherman?"
Objects
Experts

Do you wish to purchase Cindy Sherman and receive future offers?
Newsletter & Inquiry Index
Auction results from: Cindy Sherman
SHERMAN, CINDY
1954 Glen Ridge/New Jersey

Title: Untitled Film Still #39.
Date: 1979.
Technique: Gelatin silver print laid down on Kapa board.
Depiction Size: 89 x 70cm.
Sheet Size: 102 x 76cm.
Notation: Signed, dated and numbered.
Number: 1/3.
Frame: Framed.


Provenance:
- Christie's, New York, auction 21.11.1996, lot 284

Exhibitions:
- Kulturhuset Stockholm 2004
- me Collectors Room Berlin 2015/2016
- Museum Jorn, Silkeborg 2017
- Weserburg Museum für Moderne Kunst, Bremen 2018/2019

Literature:
- Stiftung Olbricht (ed.): Cindy Sherman - Works from the Olbricht Collection, Berlin 2015, ill. p. 5
- Museum Jorn (ed.): Cindy Sherman, Silkeborg 2017, ill. w/o p. (Untitled film stills), p. 135 with ill.
- cf. Danto, Arthur C.: Untitled Film Stills - Cindy Sherman, Munich 1990, no. 26
- cf. Krauss, Rosalind/Bryson, Norman (eds.): Cindy Sherman 1975-1993, New York 1993, p. 56
- cf. Frankel, David (ed.): Cindy Sherman - The Complete Untitled Film Stills, New York 2003, p. 115

The American Cindy Sherman is one of the most famous artists in the world. Her path there began in the late 1970s with her series of photographs entitled "Untitled Film Stills". This series of works represents one of the most important series in the artist's career, but also in art history per se. Sherman slips into various socially anchored female role patterns and makes an important contribution to feminist discourse and the debate on female identity.

Sherman does not use suggestive titles, but numbers her works. Thus the photograph #39 presented here is taken from this famous series. An open door allows us to look into a small bathroom, where an attractive young woman can be seen in profile in front of the washbasin. She is only lightly dressed with a shirt, has her hands on her belly and looks down on her body. What is going on inside her, we ask ourselves. Does she show signs of pregnancy or illness? This seemingly insignificant, since so everyday representation unfolds in a suspenseful way thanks to a clever staging. One would like to know what has happened before and how it will continue, because it is a look that we know from films and which suggests a story. In this series of works Sherman plays with our viewing habits, which are influenced by film and advertising. For the experienced film viewer, suspense is built up in this quiet scene, which draws the viewer into the picture and arouses curiosity. The title of the series underlines this by alluding to a "film still", although it is a photograph staged with great attention to detail. The size of the work also emphasizes the filmic aspect and contrasts with the intimate ambience. The black and white of the photograph also places what is to be seen in a different time and is also reminiscent of cinema - of a film noir à la Hitchcock.

The artist always portrays herself in her works, embodying different female stereotypes. She thus becomes an object that is viewed. At the same time, however, she is also the subject, as she herself chooses the role portrayed in order to perform it in her own unique way for the photograph. In this way she thematizes the male gaze and regains self-determination on behalf of women. For in the long tradition of art history - continued by film, television and advertising - women are always staged as objects for the male gaze. Sherman skilfully takes up these roles and re-stages, exaggerates or caricatures them. In this way she subversively recodes the image of women and leads it into a new era.

Contact:
Martina Janke
Photographs
Modern, Post War & Contemporary Art
+49 221 92 58 62 306

Print this lot
| Recommend lot
|

Conditions of Sale



Droit de suite
1

VAT margin scheme, VAT included, but must not be indicated, not refundable

29.00 % buyer’s premium on the hammer price

Los ist verkauft

Los 423 | Cindy Sherman | Untitled Film Still #39

Taxe
80.000 - 120.000 €
Ergebnis
129.000 €

Sie wollen ein Objekt von Cindy Sherman verkaufen?
Objektbewertung
Experten

Möchten Sie Cindy Sherman kaufen und zukünftig Angebote erhalten?
Newsletter & Suchkartei
Auktionsergebnisse zu: Cindy Sherman
SHERMAN, CINDY
1954 Glen Ridge/NJ, USA

Titel: Untitled Film Still #39.
Datierung: 1979.
Technik: Gelatinesilberabzug auf Kapaplatte aufgezogen.
Darstellungsmaß: 89 x 70cm.
Blattmaß: 102 x 76cm.
Bezeichnung: Signiert, datiert und nummeriert.
Exemplar: 1/3.
Rahmen: Rahmen.


Provenienz:
- Christie's, New York, Auk. 21.11.1996, Los 284

Ausstellungen:
- Kulturhuset Stockholm 2004
- me Collectors Room Berlin 2015/2016
- Museum Jorn, Silkeborg 2017
- Weserburg Museum für Moderne Kunst, Bremen 2018/2019

Literatur:
- Stiftung Olbricht (Hrsg.): Cindy Sherman - Works from the Olbricht Collection, Berlin 2015, Abb. S. 5
- Museum Jorn (Hrsg.): Cindy Sherman, Silkeborg 2017, Abb. o.S. (Untitled film stills), S. 135 mit Abb.
- vgl. Danto, Arthur C.: Untitled Film Stills - Cindy Sherman, München 1990, Nr. 26
- vgl. Krauss, Rosalind/Bryson, Norman (Hrsg.): Cindy Sherman 1975-1993, New York 1993, S. 56
- vgl. Frankel, David (Hrsg.): Cindy Sherman - The Complete Untitled Film Stills, New York 2003, S. 115

Die Amerikanerin Cindy Sherman zählt zu den weltweit bekanntesten Künstlerinnen. Ihr Weg dorthin begann Ende der 1970er-Jahre mit ihrer Fotografie-Reihe "Untitled Film Stills". Diese Werkreihe stellt eine der bedeutendsten Serien im Oeuvre der Künstlerin dar, aber auch in der Kunstgeschichte per se. Sherman schlüpft darin in verschiedene gesellschaftlich verankerte weibliche Rollenmuster und leistet einen wichtigen Beitrag zum feministischen Diskurs und zur Debatte um weibliche Identität.
Sherman bedient sich keiner suggestiven Titel, sondern nummeriert ihre Werke. So entstammt die hier vorgestellte Fotografie #39 dieser berühmten Serie. Eine offene Tür gewährt uns darin den Blick in ein kleines Badezimmer, wo eine attraktive junge Frau in Seitenansicht vor dem Waschbecken zu sehen ist. Sie ist nur leicht mit einem Hemdchen bekleidet, hat ihre Hände auf ihren Bauch gelegt und sieht auf ihren Körper herab. Was geht in ihr vor, fragen wir uns. Deutet sich eine Schwangerschaft an oder eine Krankheit? Diese scheinbar unbedeutende, da so alltägliche Darstellung entfaltet sich dank raffinierter Inszenierung spannungsvoll. Man möchte wissen, was zuvor passiert ist und wie es weitergehen wird, denn es ist ein Blick, wie wir ihn aus Filmen kennen und der eine Geschichte suggeriert. Sherman spielt in dieser Werkreihe mit unseren Sehgewohnheiten, die durch Film und Werbung beeinflusst sind. Für den versierten Filmzuschauer baut sich in dieser stillen Szenerie Suspense auf, die den Betrachter in das Bild hineinzieht und Neugier erweckt. Der Titel der Serie unterstreicht dies, indem er ein "Film Still" andeutet, obwohl es sich um eine mit viel Liebe zum Detail inszenierte Fotografie handelt. Auch die Größe des Werks betont das Filmische und steht im Kontrast zum intimen Ambiente. Das Schwarz-Weiß der Aufnahme rückt das zu Sehende darüber hinaus in eine andere Zeit und erinnert ebenfalls an das Kino - an einen Film noir à la Hitchcock.
Die Künstlerin porträtiert sich in ihren Werken stets selbst, unterschiedliche weibliche Stereotypen verkörpernd. Sie wird somit zum Objekt, das betrachtet wird. Gleichzeitig ist sie jedoch auch Subjekt, da sie selbst die dargestellte Rolle auswählt, um diese auf ihre ganz eigene Weise für das Foto aufzuführen. So thematisiert sie den männlichen Blick und gewinnt stellvertretend für Frauen Selbstbestimmung zurück. Denn in der langen Tradition der Kunstgeschichte - weitergeführt von Film, Fernsehen und Werbung - werden Frauen stets als Objekte für den männlichen Blick inszeniert. Gekonnt greift Sherman diese Rollen auf und reinszeniert, überzeichnet oder karikiert sie. Dadurch recodiert sie subversiv das Bild der Frau und führt es in eine neue Ära.

Ansprechpartner:
Marion Scharmann
Modern, Post War & Contemporary Art
+49 221 92 58 62 303

Los ausdrucken
| Los empfehlen
|

Bedingungen



Folgerechtabgabe
1

Differenzbesteuerung, MwSt. enthalten, gem. § 25a UStG nicht ausweisbar, nicht erstattbar

29% Aufgeld auf den Zuschlagspreis


Los: 68004-58